Sonata, BWV 1024

Sonata, BWV 1024


Originally for violin and continuo in c minor, transposed to g herein. Attributed to Bach, but now thought possibly to have been composed by J. G. Pisendel. Four movements: Adagio, Presto, Affetuoso, and Vivace. One point that argues for attributing it to Bach is that the very beginning of the remarkable Adagio bears a striking resemblance to that of Bach’s aria, “Wo wird in diesem Jammerthale,” (Full line: “Where in this vale of tears (will be the refuge for my spirit))?”, and perhaps the opening of the Fantasia BWV 542 (both of which are arranged on this website).

Keyboard parts include separate recorder parts at no additional cost.

Showing the single result

  • BWV 1024

    20 pp.
Add to Cart